Scroll to top

Top

Dysplastic Hip and Deformity

The term hip dysplasia describes undesirable developments as the result of congential or developmental malformation. Repeatedly the abnormity is found at the acetabulum (articular cavity) in newborns. It is characteristic for this deformity that the femoral head is not overlaid sufficiently (Figure 1). If there is a diminished roofing of the femoral head, it is possible that ,due to extensive strain on the smaller acetabulum, a premature osteoathritis is formed. This could lead to no other option than a endoprosthesis in younger years. In pronounced cases a hip joint luxation can occur. In this case the femoral head is outside the acetabulum and creates a compensation socket which is located at the pelvis edge.




Figure 1: Dysplastic Hip: diminished femoral head roofing through the acetabulum (CE-angle 21°)


If a hip dysplacia is presence load-dependend pain in the affected join can appear which leads the patient to a doctor’s visit. At an early stage, with a small cartilage damage, there is the option for the reduction of wear by the use of a three-dimensional pelvic correction.
The Peri-Acetabular Pelvic Osteotomy (PAO) in accordance with Ganz is one possible therapy of hip dysplasia . With this technique the acetabulum and the bone around it are detached from the pelvis before they get reconnected at the correct position. The femoral head will then be overlaid by the actetabulum normally and physiological, respectively (Figure 2).



Figure 2: Dysplastic Hip: diminished femoral head roofing through the acetabulum. After an Acetabular Pelvic Osteotomy (PAO) an adequate roofing could be achieved.


In case of a simultaneous malpositioning of the femoral neck a correction at this area also can be performed (e.g. DVO - Derotation-Variation-Osteotomy), in order to reach the optimal femoral head position inside the acetabulum. Clinical and further diagnostic measures play a stering role at the diagnosis: For example, x-rays of the pelvis in combination with an MRI of the hip help to make the correct diagnosis.
As a follow-up treatment following the corrective operation it is important to mobilize the joint. As a general rule the mobilization shall happen due partial weight-bearing for at least 6-9 months. After this period of time a prompt increased load bearing in essential. What is also important in connection with a good outcome is the maintainance by experienced physiotherapists.

Scroll to top

Top

Hüftdysplasie, Fehlstellungen

Der Begriff Hüftdysplasie umschreibt eine Fehlentwicklung des Hüftgelenkes, die angeboren oder entwicklungsbedingt auftreten kann. Vielfach findet sich jedoch die Fehlanlage des Acetabulums (Hüftpfanne) beim Neugeborenen, die den Hüftkopf nicht genügend überdeckt (Abb. 1). Wenn eine verminderte Überdachung des Hüftkopfes vorliegt, kann es durch eine vermehrte Druckbelastung auf die reduzierte Pfannenfläche zu einer vorzeitigen Abnutzung des Gelenkknorpels kommen, die mitunter in jungen Jahren in einen Ersatz des Gelenkes mit einer Endoprothese erfordert. In ganz ausgeprägten Fällen kann auch eine Hüftgelenkluxation vorliegen, bei der sich der Hüftkopf nicht in der Hüftpfanne befindet und über die Jahre hinweg eine Ersatzpfanne am Beckenrand (Sekundärepfanne) bildet.



Abb. 1: Hüftdysplasie mit verminderter Überdachung des Hüftkopfes durch die Hüftpfanne (CE-Winkel 21°)


Liegt eine Hüftdysplasie vor, äußert sich das häufig erst durch belastungsabhängige Schmerzen in dem betroffenen Gelenk, die dann zu einem ersten Arztbesuch führen. Im Frühstadium mit nur geringer Schädigung des Gelenkknorpels gibt es die Möglichkeiten, durch 3-dimensionale Beckenkorrekturen diese Fehlstellung zu korrigieren, um ein Fortschreiten des Verschleißes zu verhindern.

Hier bietet die peri-acetabuläre Beckenosteotomie (PAO) nach Ganz die Möglichkeit, eine Hüftdysplasie zu behandeln. Mit dieser Technik wird das Acetabulum mit dem umgebenen Knochen aus dem Beckenverbund gelöst und in der korrigierten Stellung fixiert, so dass anschließend eine normale bzw. physiologische Überdachung des Hüftkopfes durch die Hüftpfanne erreicht wird (Abb. 2).



Abb. 2: Hüftdysplasie mit einer verminderten Überdachung des Hüftkopfes. Nach peri-acetabulärer Beckenosteotomie (PAO) konnte eine adäquate Überdachung erreicht werden


Bei gleichzeitiger Fehlstellung des Schenkelhalses kann auch dort eine Korrektur vorgenommen werden (z.B. DVO - Derotation-Varisation-Ostetotomie), um eine bestmögliche Stellung des Hüftkopfes in der Pfanne zu ermöglichen. Richtungsweisend bei der Diagnostik sind in aller Regel die Röntgenaufnahmen des Beckens, die vielfach durch eine Kernspintomographie (MRT) der betroffenen Hüfte ergänzt wird.

Die Mobilisation nach dem korrigierenden Beckeneingriff erfolgt in aller Regel mit einer Teilbelastung des betroffenen Gelenkes für mindestens 6-9 Wochen mit einem anschließenden zügigen Belastungsaufbau. Wichtig ist ebenfalls eine Weiterbetreuung durch erfahrene Physiotherapeuten, um ein gutes Ergebnis nach diesem komplexen Eingrigg zu erreichen.